Home Trending SEE FULL list of SEVENTY-FOUR (74) deregistered political parties in Nigeria

SEE FULL list of SEVENTY-FOUR (74) deregistered political parties in Nigeria

SEE FULL list of SEVENTY-FOUR (74) deregistered political parties in Nigeria

SEE FULL list of SEVENTY-FOUR (74) deregistered political parties in Nigeria

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has de-registered 74 political parties for failing to satisfy the requirements to operate as contained in the Fourth Alteration to the Constitution.

The Chairman of INEC, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, disclosed this while briefing newsmen in Abuja on Thursday.

Although a total of 75 parties were listed for deregistration, one of them – Action People’s Party (APP) – obtained a court order restraining the electoral umpire from deregistering it

Consequently the Commission cleared 16 political parties, which it said have fulfilled the requirements for existence in line with section 225A of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

Below is the Full list of 74 deregistered political parties

(1) AAP – Advanced Allied Party
(2) ABP – All Blending Party
(3) ACD- Advanced Congress Of Democrats
(4) ACPN – Allied Congress Party Of Nigeria
(5) AD – Alliance For Democracy
(6) AGA – All Grassroots Alliance
(7) AGAP – All Grand Alliance Party
(8) ANDP – Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party
(9) ANN – Alliance For New Nigeria
(10) ANP – Alliance National Party
(11) ANRP – Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party
(12) APA – African People Alliance
(13) APDA – Advanced People’s Democratic Alliance
(14) APN – Alternative Party Of Nigeria
(15) ASD – Alliance Of Social Democrats
(16) AUN – Alliance For A United Nigeria
(17) BNPP – Better Nigeria Progressive Party
(18) CAP – Change Advocacy Party
(19) CC – Coalition For Change
(20) CNP – Change Nigeria Party
(21) COP – Congress Of Patriots
(22) DA – Democratic Alternative
(23) DPC – Democratic People’s Congress
(24) DPP – Democratic People’s Party
(25) FDP – Fresh Democratic Party

(26) FJP – Freedom And Justice Party
(27) GDPN – Grassroots Development Party Of Nigeria
(28) GPN – Green Party Of Nigeria
(29) HDP – Hope Democratic Party
(30) ID – Independent Democrats
(31) JMPP – Justice Must Prevail Party
(32) KP – Kowa Party
(33) LM – Liberation Movement
(34) LPN – Legacy Party Of Nigeria
(35) MAJA – Mass Action Joint Alliance
(36) MDP – Modern Democratic Party
(37) MMN – Masses Movement Of Nigeria
(38) MPN – Mega Party Of Nigeria
(39) MRDD – Movement For The Restoration And Defence Of Democracy
(40) NAC – National Action Council
(41) NCMP – Nigeria Community Movement Party
(42) NCP – National Conscience Party
(43) NDCP – Nigeria Democratic Congress Party
(44) NDLP – National Democratic Liberty Party
(45) NEPP – Nigeria Elements Progressive Party
(46) NFD – Nigeria For Democracy
(47) NGP – New Generation Party Of Nigeria
(48) NIP – National Interest Party
(49) NPC – Nigeria People’s Congress
(50) NPM – New Progressive Movement

(51) NUP – National Unity Party
(52) PCP – People’s Coalition Party
(53) PDC – People For Democratic Change
(54) PDM – People’s Democratic Movement
(55) PPA – Progressive People’s Alliance
(56) PPC – Providence People’s Congress
(57) PPN – People’s Party Of Nigeria
(58) PPP – People’s Progressive Party
(59) PT – People’s Trust
(60) RAP – Reform And Advancement Party
(61) RBNP – Re-Build Nigeria Party
(62) RP – Restoration Party Of Nigeria
(63) SNC – Save Nigeria Congress
(64) SNP – Sustainable National Party
(65) SPN – Socialist Party Of Nigeria
(66) UDP – United Democratic Party
(67) UP – United Patriots
(68) UPC – United People’s Congress
(69) UPN – Unity Party Of Nigeria
(70) UPP – United Progressive Party
(71) WTPN – We The People Nigeria
(72) YDP – Young Democratic Party
(73) YES – Electorates Solidarity
(74) YP – Youth Party

SEE FULL list of SEVENTY-FOUR (74) deregistered political parties in Nigeria
SEE FULL list of SEVENTY-FOUR (74) deregistered political parties in Nigeria

Here is the full list of the 18 political parties that scaled the deregistration process:

Accord (A)

Action Alliance (AA)

African Action Congress (AAC)

African Democratic Congress (ADC)

Action Democratic Party (ADP)

All Progressives Congress (APC)

All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

Allied People’s Movement (APM)

Action People’s Party (APP)

Boot Party (BP)

Labour Party (LP)

New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP)

National Rescue Movement (NRM)

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)

Social Democratic Party (SDP)

Young Progressive Party (YPP)

Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)

Why 74 political parties were deregistered – INEC

Yakubu said the parties failed to meet constitutional requirements that determine the continuous existence of political parties in the country.

INEC said the deregistered parties breached their requirements for registration because they failed to win at least 2596 of votes cast in one State of the federation during the Presidential election.

INEC also said the parties, since their existence, did not win one local government of a state in a governorship election.

The deregistered parties, according to INEC also failed to win at least one ward in the chairmanship elections in local governments.

Some also failed to win one seat in the National or State House of Assembly election or one seat In a Councillorshlp election since they were registered.

Section 225A of Nigeria’s constitution empowers INEC to register and deregister political parties in the country.

Before deregistration of the 74 parties, Nigeria had 90 political parties qualified to contest elections.

With the deregistration, Nigeria’s political parties have been reduced to 16.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here